“We are confident that when all things fall in place, MEGA 2014 will have advanced several steps forward in making gospel music reclaim lost ground and underscore Nigerian entertainment as the real sector of the Nigerian economy and lifestyle. And what’s more – this year’s theme would have rekindled a new spirit that proclaims: the revolution has indeed begun!” Those were the words of the facilitator of MEGA 2014, Femi Akintunde Johnson at a press briefing before the event.


The uncanny revolution for the awakening of the Nige­rian music industry insti­tuted by the organisers of Nigeria’s premier gospel awards, Music and Enter­tainment Gospel Awards (MEGA) was courageously taken to greater heights with the second edition of the pacesetting project which took place in Lagos on Friday November 14, 2014.

The award night tagged the ‘MEGA Show’ by the Main Organising Committee (MOC), was held at the Haven Event Cen­tre, Ikeja, GRA, Lagos with glitz, glamour and paparazzi. It was a landmark event which attracted outstanding celebrities such as broadcasting icon, Prince Bisi Olatilo, COSON’s chairman, Chief Tony Okoroji, Rev. Olufemi Ogedemgbe, Snr. Special Asst. (SSA) to the governor of Lagos State; Hotel Support Services’ duo, Dele Coker and Dipo Efunkoya, music legend, Laolu Akins, top presenter and channel owner, Agatha Amata, veteran actor and pro­ducer, Patrick Doyle, ex-reggae star, Amos McRoy Jegg, Broda Martyns, Lara George, Patrick Avoseh, President of Private Label Owners Association of Nigeria and MD, Dapat Music Ltd.; Rev. Timi Orokoya, National President, Gospel Musicians As­sociation of Nigeria (GOMAN); Ambas­sador Korede Willoughby, ex- Federal Permanent Secretary; Chinedu Chukwuji, GM, COSON; and a host of others.

The ceremony was also livened up with the enthusiastic attendance from music artistes, fans and comedians within and outside Nigeria. The award was expertly anchored by top comedian and MC, Tunde Adewale (Tee-A); while Omo Jesu piloted the affairs of the pre-show called ‘Mix­Zone’ – where 10 awards were presented. The very best of musical menu was served by distinguished Nigerian gospel acts around the globe. Dubai- based and Af­rica’s first female Artiste of the Year award winner, Funke Akinokun, who flew in for the awards, led the jewelled army of gospel artistes that made the audience almost shed tears of joy as they put on thrilling performances.

View more pictures from the event after the cut.

liza c and sabina

Other performing acts were 2013 artiste of the year, Nathan Florocka Akiremi, Ibitayo Jeje, Da’son, D’Priest, Juliana Etiele (Abuja), Enugu-based Mr. Melky, Aimee (Rita Alakija) and iconic Broda Martyns, who virtually set the whole venue on fire. A total of 36 awards were given out by the Board of Judges (B0J), apart from a single “Special Award” to Mike Abdul’s Morire as Most Popular Song of 2014. Akinokun became the first female Nigerian artiste to win the highly coveted Artiste of the Year award includ­ing two other trophies.

Multiple winners who took home the new and highly-acclaimed glittering MEGA trophy, include Mike Aremu (winning four with his ‘Coat of Many Colour’; Nosa Omoregie’s ‘Open Doors’ (with four awards – including Song of the Year with ‘Always Pray For You’); Kenny K’ore (3 awards), Cute Sagay and Razphil (2 each). Winners of single trophies are Eteile, Taiwo Oladoye, Zoe Chinaka, Esselyte, Itunu Oseni, Aity Daniel’s, Cris Emerald, Gozie Okeke, PITA, Monique, Chika 100%, Ebubedike, Da’son, Yinka Davids, Wole Oni, Storm, Rosemary Onumaegbu and Faith Ajiboye.

The event described by MEGA 2014 winner (Medley in English), Esselyte as “megalicious”, was adjudged by almost all the guests as very interesting, colour­ful, invigorating and entertaining. It ended about 8.30pm.

MEGA 2014 was executive-produced by Footprints PML, the awards and media company run by Iretunde and Femi Akintunde-Johnson.



20 21 30 31

By mynaijadj

Mynaijadj is a passionate lover of music skilled at the art of DJing and providing event entertainment solutions like sound, music, multimedia and film.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge